9 April 2021

Members of the Concertgebouworkest

Tsjaikovski, Berio, Borodin, Pärt and Dirksen - Resilience (world premiere)

Chamber music

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
This concert will be streamed on 9 April 2021 via concertgebouworkest.nl, Facebook and YouTube.
April 2021 Friday 20:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence - I. Allegro con spirito
Luciano Berio Opus Number Zoo
Aleksander Borodin Strijkkwartet nr. 2 - III. Notturno. Andante
Arvo Pärt Spiegel im Spiegel
Rob Dirksen Resilience (world premiere)

Musicians from the Concertgebouworkest play chamber music in various line-ups. After passionate music for strings by Tchaikovsky and Borodin, Pärt's meditative Spiegel im Spiegel and Berio's playful Opus Number Zoo, Rob Dirksens' Resilience will have its world premiere.

Stay in, tune in: every evening from 23 January to 21 March, a short curfew concert was played by musicians of the Concertgebouworkest via Instagram Live at the stroke of 21:00. This program is composed of five of these concerts.

Two passionate Russian works for strings are on the programme. The first part of Tchaikovsky's Souvenir de Florence shows a great contrast between the violent beginning and the calm middle part. With the Notturno from Borodin's Second String Quartet it is the other way around: the peaceful music is interrupted by an agitated middle section.

Berio called his Opus Number Zoo a "child's play" - a play for children, but also child's play. The five woodwinds show every corner of their instruments in four short stories. The meditative Spiegel im Spiegel is one of Arvo Pärt's most popular pieces; it was originally composed for violin and piano but comes in many versions - cellist Maartje-Maria den Herder and percussionist Bence Major show how beautifully the cello and vibraphone go together.

The final piece is the world premiere of Resilience by composer and Concertgebouw orchestra double bass player Rob Dirksen. This ode to people's resilience in times of crisis is performed by the Concertgebouw Kamerorkest conducted by solo oboist and conductor Alexei Ogrintchouk.


Tchaikovsky: Allegro con spirito from ‘Souvenir de Florence’

Jelena Ristic, violin
Eke van Spiegel, violin
Frederik Boits, viola
Yoko Kanamaru, viola
Benedikt Enzler, cello
Christian Hacker, cello

Berio: Opus Number Zoo

Julie Moulin, flute
Miriam Pastor Burgos, oboe
Helma van den Brink, bassoon
Arno Piters, clarinet
Jaap van der Vliet, horn

Borodin: Notturno (Andante) from ‘String Quartet No. 2’

Valentina Svyatlovskaya, violin
Liviu Prunaru, violin
Yoko Kanamaru, viola
Gregor Horsch, cello

Pärt: Spiegel im Spiegel

Bence Major, vibraphone
Maartje-Maria den Herder, cello

Dirksen: Resilience

Concertgebouw Kamerorkest
Alexei Ogrintchouk - conductor

Audio & Video