Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

19 September 2017

Portrait Concert

Henk Rubingh, violin


Tickets & Programme
September 2017 Tuesday 20:15
Recital Hall Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Igor Stravinsky Suite Italienne
Sergej Prokofjev Suite from Cinderella
Erich Korngold Suite Much ado about nothing
Erich Korngold Suite for two violins, cello and piano (left hand)

Chamber music performed by musicians of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Henk Rubingh is principal of the orchestra’s second violin section. His portrait concert, featuring an all-suites programme, focuses on Erich Wolfgang Korngold, whom we are doubly commemorating this year: the composer was born an Austrian in 1897 and died an American in Hollywood in 1957. His theatre music for Shakespeare’s Much Ado about Nothing enjoyed great success and was subsequently arranged for various ensembles. He composed the splendid Suite for Two Violins, Cello and Piano Left Hand for pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who had lost an arm in the First World War. Stravinsky wrote his Suite italienne, based on his vibrant ballet Pulcinella, in the same period. Equally vibrant is Prokofiev’s popular opera Cinderella, from which several suites were also distilled and arranged.

For fans of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Close-up concerts given in the Recital Hall provide a fantastic opportunity to get acquainted with individual musicians. In this concert series, they perform chamber music in small ensembles, allowing you to enjoy their unique musical personalities and abilities.