Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

18 January 2018

Carnegie Hall

Bruch and Mahler

Gatti meets Janine Jansen

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
January 2018 Thursday 20:00
Carnegie Hall, New York
past concert
Max Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 1 'Titan'

Chief conductor Daniele Gatti and star violinist Janine Jansen unite in Max Bruch’s First Violin Concerto on a concert at New York’s venerable Carnegie Hall. Bruch’s warm-blooded concerto fits Jansen like a glove. Listening to the work, with its sweetly flowing melodies and blazing solo passages, one would never know that it took the composer four years of frustration to write. Almost immediately after it was premiered, it was considered one of the most popular violin concertos in the repertoire.

Daniele Gatti and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra are pursuing their Mahler series with the First Symphony. At the premiere in 1889, the audience was ill-prepared for Mahler’s bold orchestration, but the symphony gradually gained in popularity. The Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted by the composer himself, gave the Dutch premiere in 1903. Mahler was absolutely delighted, exclaiming, ‘The musical culture in this country is stupendous! The way the people can just listen!’

Audio & Video