Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

13 April 2018

War and Peace

Connesson world premiere

Gatti meets Kavakos

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & VideoExtra
April 2018 Friday 20:15
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Rudolf Escher Musique pour l'esprit en deuil
Guillaume Connesson Eiréné (commission)
Karl Amadeus Hartmann Concerto funebre
Guillaume Connesson Eiréné (commission)
Arthur Honegger Symphony No. 3, 'Symphonie liturgique'

One hundred years since the end of the First World War, chief conductor Daniele Gatti is conducting a concert in the War and Peace series, with a leading role for star violinist Leonidas Kavakos. The programme features the sound of mourning, resistance and hope in works written during and just after the Second World War, as well as the world premiere of Eiréné by the French composer Guillaume Connesson.

Leonidas Kavakos is performing the solo part in Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Concerto funebre, written in 1939 – this is music about hope and resistance in desperate times. The Dutch composer Rudolf Escher wrote his poignant Musique pour l’esprit en deuil during the Second World War. The first performance in 1947 resulted in Escher’s gaining near-instant recognition as the country’s leading composer.

Arthur Honegger chose to stay in France during the Second World War and wrote several works opposing the war. His Third Symphony was a call for peace when the Cold War broke out.

Audio & Video