16 April 2021

Paavo Järvi, conductor

Pilot 'Testen voor Toegang'

Live-concert: Víkingur Ólafsson speelt Mozart

Tickets & Programme
All visitors must be in possession of a concert ticket and show a negative corona test result which is not older than forty hours at the moment the concert starts.
April 2021 Friday 20:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Sold out
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24, KV 491
Robert Schumann Symphony No. 3 'Rhenish'

This concert is part of the 'Testen voor Toegang' programme, a nationally organized series of pilot concerts and events with the aim of reopening the sector in a safe way. The concert seats 425 people.

Visitors to the concert must be in possession of an admission ticket and a negative corona test result that is not older than 40 hours at the time the concert starts. To do this, you must go through the following steps:

  1. Order a ticket via concertgebouworkest.nl.
  2. Make a test appointment at one of the affiliated test locations via testenvoortoegang.nl.
  3. Get tested at the test provider where you have made an appointment. You will receive the test result one hour after the test.
  4. Bring your test certificate (negative test result), your ID and your ticket to the event.

For more information about the pilot concerts and test (proofs), please visit testvoortgegevens.nl (in Dutch only).

This concert will also be available as a live stream.


Víkingur Ólafsson is making his debut with the Concertgebouworkest. Over the past few years, he has attracted attention with his interpretation of music by Bach, Glass and contemporary music. That’s why it will certainly be interesting to hear his interpretation of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 24, a work of unrivalled beauty anticipating the romantic era with its dramatic opening and its dark undercurrents.


Paavo Järvi has made several impressive guest appearances with the Concertgebouworkest. He now shines his light on Schumann’s Third Symphony (‘Rhenish’), the culmination of Schumann’s efforts to prove himself as an orchestral composer. Inspired by the beautiful landscape of the Rhineland, he wanted this symphony to sound like folk music. But the work also sometimes has a solemn, spiritual intensity, the result of the deep impression that the then newly built Cologne Cathedral made on him.