19 June 2021

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor

Live: Mendelssohn, Schubert and Ligeti

Tickets & Programme
At the concert at 7 p.m., the orchestra will receive donors, sponsors and other relations who have been of great significance to the orchestra over the past period. Visitors to both concerts must be in possession of a negative corona test result that is not older than 40 hours at the time the concert starts. For this purpose, they can undergo a rapid test free of charge in advance at a designated test location. All information about this can be found on the website testenvoortoegang.nl.
June 2021 Saturday 19:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
June 2021 Saturday 21:15
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Franz Schubert Overture 'In the Italian style'
György Ligeti Concert Românesc
Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4

Gustavo Gimeno, with whom the Concertgebouw Orchestra also undertook the restart after the first lockdown a year ago, will lead the first live concert since April 16. Italian-inspired works by Schubert and Mendelssohn frame Ligeti's early Concert Românesc, based on Romanian folk music.

Concertgebouworkest performs for an audience

Visitors to the concert must be in possession of an admission ticket and a negative corona test result that is not older than 40 hours at the time the concert starts. To do this, you must go through the following steps:

  1. Order a ticket via concertgebouworkest.nl.
  2. Make a test appointment at one of the affiliated test locations via testenvoortoegang.nl.
  3. Get tested at the test provider where you have made an appointment. You will receive the test result one hour after the test. If your test result is negative, you will receive a unique code with which you can activate your entrance ticket in the CoronaCheck app. This app can be downloaded for IOS & Android.
  4. Bring your test certificate (negative test result), your ID and your ticket to the event.
Sunny and southern

“It will be the most enjoyable piece I have written yet, especially the last movement.” Mendelssohn was so enthusiastic about his “Italian symphony” that he interrupted work on other compositions. The sunny and southern temperament of the first movement sets the tone for a heart-warming symphony, which radiates pleasure. The final movement, Saltarello, refers to dances that the young Mendelssohn heard in Rome and Naples.

Italian style

The opening work of this concert is also light and airy. Like all Viennese music lovers around 1817, Schubert adored Rossini's operas, but he thought the praise his friends bestowed on Rossini's overtures was exaggerated. To prove that he could do it, and quickly, the twenty-year-old Schubert wrote two delightful overtures "in Italian style", of which the one in D major in particular immediately gained great popularity.

Radiant, exciting, mysterious

As a young Hungarian composer, György Ligeti often based himself on traditional folk music. After his country was first overrun by the Nazis and then annexed by the Soviet Union, he decided to write more radical music as a protest. The Concert Românesc is a transitional work. Romanian folk music was the inspiration for the first three movements - first radiant, then stirring, sometimes mysterious. In the last part we catch a glimpse of the later bold and caricatural Ligeti.