20 February 2021

Violin Concerto and ‘Jupiter’ Symphony

Sylvia Huang, violin

Masterpieces by Mozart

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
February 2021 Saturday 21:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Sale has ended
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Vioolconcert nr. 4 in D gr.t., KV 218
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symfonie nr. 41 in C gr.t., KV 551, 'Jupiter'

This Essentials concert features two undisputed masterpieces by Mozart. The soloist in Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 is Sylvia Huang, the young Concertgebouworkest violinist who won the Audience Prize at the prestigious Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2019. Andrew Manze then leads the orchestra in Mozart’s majestic ‘Jupiter’ Symphony. 

Mozart’s Violin Concerto in D

The Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major and the ‘Jupiter’ Symphony are two of the most emblematic works Mozart ever wrote. As an adolescent, the precocious composer had already achieved a degree of mastery that would only continue to grow. Mozart wrote the Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major at the age of nineteen. He had composed the earlier three for his own use, being a commendable violinist himself. The Fourth, however, was intended for a veritable virtuoso, as is clearly audible.

Mozart’s ‘Jupiter’ Symphony

With his forty-first and final symphony, nicknamed the ‘Jupiter’, Mozart gloriously excelled himself. The work owes its ‘divine’ aura to the majestic themes and to the astonishing way Mozart intertwines them.


Four times a year, the Essentials Series focuses on essential masterworks, pieces every music lover should know, performed by the Concertgebouworkest and introduced by the lively presenter Thomas Vanderveken in his own unique way.

Audio & Video