22 August 2019

artist in residence

Brahms and Tchaikovsky

meet Tabea Zimmermann

Tickets & Programme
August 2019 Thursday 20:00
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Johannes Brahms Variations on a theme by Haydn
Béla Bartók Viola concerto
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1

In addition to works by Brahms and Tchaikovsky, the Concertgebouworkest is performing Bartók’s Viola Concerto with Tabea Zimmermann, artist in residence during the 2019–20 season.

Artist in residence

There are far fewer world-renowned solo violists than there are violinists or cellists. Fortunately, there is Tabea Zimmermann, who is serving as the Concertgebouworkest’s artist in residence this season. Even before the season has well and truly started, the German violist will be performing as soloist in Bartók’s Viola Concerto on the Bankgiro Loterij Summer Concerts Series. It is one of the last works he wrote, and is unfinished. Tabea Zimmermann will be performing the concerto in a version she herself has completed. The end is characterised by Hungarian folk melodies and furious virtuosity.

Brahms and Tchaikovsky

The conductor Tugan Sokhiev garnered great acclaim for his last performances with the Concertgebouworkest, in 2006 and 2010. Now he returns with Brahms’s beloved Haydn Variations and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1. The young Tchaikovsky took inspiration from Russia, Beethoven and Mendelssohn. The title ‘Winter Daydreams’ is largely connected with the first two movements, entitled ‘Dreams of a Winter Journey’ and ‘Land of Desolation, Land of Mists’. A number of his fellow composers, who had already put the young Tchaikovsky through his paces, were of the opinion that the First Symphony was too ‘Western’ and not Russian enough. This is rather odd – with its prominent themes taken from Russian folk music and its melancholy character, Tchaikovsky’s First could well be called an emphatically Russian symphony.