Sylvia Huang is soloist in Mozart's Violin Concerto

Stravinsky’s ‘Dumbarton Oaks’

Mozart’s ‘Jupiter’ Symphony

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
In November the adapted programme for January through May 2021 will be announced.
Igor Stravinsky Concerto in E flat Major, ‘Dumbarton Oaks’
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Vioolconcert nr. 4 in D gr.t., KV 218
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symfonie nr. 41 in C gr.t., KV 551, 'Jupiter'

The Concertgebouworkest is performing Mozart’s majestic ‘Jupiter’ Symphony and Violin Concerto No. 4, both of which Stravinsky’s neoclassical ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ concerto nicely complements. The soloist in Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 is the young Concertgebouworkest violinist Sylvia Huang, who won the Audience Prize at the Queen Elisabeth Competition in May 2019.

Mozart’s Violin Concerto in D

The Fourth Violin Concerto and the Symphony No. 41 (‘Jupiter’) are two of the most emblematic works Mozart ever wrote. As an adolescent, the precocious composer had already achieved a degree of mastery that would only continue to deepen. Mozart wrote the Violin Concerto No. 4 at the age of nineteen. He had composed the earlier three for his own use, being a commendable violinist himself. The Fourth, however, was intended for a veritable virtuoso, as is clearly audible.

Mozart’s ‘Jupiter’ Symphony

With his forty-first and final symphony, nicknamed the ‘Jupiter’, Mozart gloriously excelled himself. The work owes its ‘divine’ aura to the majestic themes and to the astonishing way Mozart intertwines them.


In addition to the young violinist Sylvia Huang, this concert showcases several other soloists from the orchestra’s ranks. Stravinsky composed his ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ concerto in the style of a Baroque concerto grosso, with solo parts for various instruments. It stands as one of Stravinsky’s most effective neoclassical works, in which he bestows on the Bach-like sound of the music his typical dissonances and alienation effects. 

Audio & Video