Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

10, 11, 12 October 2017

Organ Concerto

Bartók | Stravinsky | Schönberg

Peter Eötvös world premiere

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
October 2017 Tuesday 20:00
Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg
past concert
October 2017 Wednesday 20:00
Philharmonie, Cologne
past concert
October 2017 Thursday 20:00
Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels
past concert
Arnold Schönberg Begleitungsmusik zu einer Lichtspielszene
Béla Bartók Dance suite
Igor Stravinsky Symphony in three movements
Peter Eötvös Multiversum – for organ, Hammond organ and orchestra (commission)

Peter Eötvös leads the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in the world premiere of his very own Multiversum. Eötvös feels there is a strong bond between music and the cosmos. Parallel universes, string theory and gravitational waves can all be heard in the polyphony of his new composition for organ, Hammond organ and orchestra.

Three works by three twentieth-century masters are programmed first. Béla Bartók’s Dance Suite commemorated the fiftieth anniversary of the union of Buda and Pest into one city. It is a festive amalgam of invented dances and folk melodies. Arnold Schönberg’s Begleitungsmusik zu einer Lichtspielszene is an expressionist work for a hypothetical film scene. Igor Stravinsky called his Symphony in Three Movements his ‘War Symphony’; it reflects the grim mood in Europe during the Second World War, even though the composer himself had already been living in Los Angeles for several years.

Audio & Video