26 October 2016

Side by Side | Wagner

Daniele Gatti, conductor

RCO meets Athens

Tickets & Programme
October 2016 Wednesday 20:30
Megaron, Athens
past concert
Richard Wagner Prelude 'Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg'
Richard Wagner Götterdämmerung: Tagesgrauen, Siegfrieds Rheinfahrt, Siegfrieds Tod und Trauermarsch
Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 10: Adagio
Alban Berg Three pieces for orchestra

RCO meets Europe, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra’s tour of all the EU member states, continues with chief conductor Daniele Gatti. The orchestra is performing the prelude to Act III of Wagner’s Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg side by side with young musicians from Greece.

‘An unbroken line runs from Wagner to Mahler, Alban Berg and beyond,’ says Daniele Gatti. Less than thirty-five years after Wagner’s Götterdämmerung was premiered, the only completed movement of Mahler’s Symphony No. 10 – the Adagio, a long-drawn-out, heartfelt cry – explored the boundary between nineteenth-century Romanticism and early twentieth-century despair.

Meanwhile, the composers of the Second Viennese School were already creating a new musical language. Alban Berg, the least radical among them, demonstrates just how closely akin his music is to that of Mahler in his Drei Orchesterstücke.