13 November 2018

Weber Side by Side

Yefim Bronfman, piano

RCO meets Copenhagen

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
November 2018 Tuesday 20:00
DR Konserthuset, Kopenhagen
past concert
Carl Maria Weber Ouverture 'Oberon'
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Alexander Zemlinsky Eine Lustspielouvertüre
Richard Strauss Death and transfiguration
Side by Side

The Concertgebouworkest continues its tour through all 28 member states of the European Union in Denmark: Concertgebouworkest meets Copenhagen. The orchestra performs Weber's Overture 'Oberon' Side by Side with the young musicians of the symphony orchestra of the Danish Youth Orchestra. They will be sharing the music stand with members of the Concertgebouworkest.

Bronfman plays Beethoven's Fourth Piano Concerto

With Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 and Brahms' Second Symphony on the programme, the orchestra underscores the prized tradition of the Concertgebouworkest: performing top classical works from the romantic period. Here the orchestra joins forces with star pianist Yefim Bronfman, who performs this most subtle and tender of Beethoven's piano concertos with the Concertgebouworkest.

Tod und Verklärung 

With his symphonic poetry Richard Strauss brought an almost cinematic realism to the music. The orchestra closely follows the adventures of the main protagonists, anecdotes often literally sounded out in minute detail. Don Juan provides a lively portrait of the legendary seducer who at the end of the piece collapses with exhaustion and disappointment. Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration) deftly portrays how a dying man looks back upon his life and after his death is lifted to a higher plane. The music is poignant with restrained drama.

Audio & Video