Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

13 November 2018

Weber Side by Side

Yefim Bronfman, piano

RCO meets Kopenhagen

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
November 2018 Tuesday 20:00
DR Konserthuset, Kopenhagen
Carl Maria Weber Ouverture 'Oberon'
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 2

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra has terminated the cooperation with chief conductor Daniele Gatti as of 2 August 2018. As soon as we have clarity on who will conduct the concert we will share it on this page.

Side by Side

The Concertgebouw Orchestra continues its tour through all 28 member states of the European Union in Denmark: RCO meets Copenhagen. The orchestra performs Weber's Overture 'Oberon' Side by Side with the young musicians of the symphony orchestra of the Danish Youth Orchestra. They will be sharing the music stand with members of the Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Bronfman plays Beethoven's Fourth Piano Concerto

With Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 and Brahms' Second Symphony on the programme, the orchestra underscores the prized tradition of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra: performing top classical works from the romantic period. Here the orchestra joins forces with star pianist Yefim Bronfman, who performs this most subtle and tender of Beethoven's piano concertos with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Brahms' Second Symphony

Johannes Brahms started composing symphonies relatively late in his career; his respect for Beethoven was so phenomenal that he avoided it for a long time. In the end he wrote four symphonies, each with its own distinct character. The Second is often compared to Beethoven's Pastorale: orchestral music as a summer walk. 

Audio & Video