20 February 2018

Wagner Side by Side

Katia and Marielle Labèque

RCO meets Madrid

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
February 2018 Tuesday 19:30
Auditorio Nacional de Música, Madrid
past concert
Richard Wagner Prelude 'Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg'
Max Bruch Concert for two piano's and orchestra
Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 5

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra is continuing its tour of all twenty-eight EU member states in Spain. It is performing the prelude to Wagner’s opera Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg Side by Side with the young musicians of the Joven Orquesta de la Comunidad de Madrid. They are sharing music stands with members of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. At the orchestra’s helm is conductor Semyon Bychkov.

The renowned piano sisters Katia and Marielle Labèque have made frequent guest appearances with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. In Max Bruch’s rarely performed Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra, they show off their most Romantic side.

The second half of the programme features Dmitry Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony, with which he managed to ingratiate himself once again with the Soviet apparatchiks. The premiere received an ovation lasting over half an hour. Semyon Bychkov says, ‘This music displays all manner of moods. After hearing this forty-five-minute work, you’ve lived a whole lifetime.’

Audio & Video