Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

8 November 2018

Weber Side by Side

Yefim Bronfman, piano

RCO meets Riga

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
November 2018 Thursday 19:00
Latvian National Opera, Riga
past concert
Carl Maria Weber Ouverture 'Oberon'
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 2
Side by Side

The Concertgebouw Orchestra continues its tour through all 28 member states of the European Union in Latvia: RCO meets Riga. The orchestra performs Weber's Overture 'Oberon' Side by Side with the young musicians of the symphony orchestra of the Latvian Jāzeps Vītols Academy of Music. They will be sharing the music stand with members of the Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Bronfman plays Beethoven's Fourth Piano Concerto

With Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4 and Brahms' Second Symphony on the programme, the orchestra underscores the prized tradition of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra: performing top classical works from the romantic period. Here the orchestra joins forces with star pianist Yefim Bronfman, who performs this most subtle and tender of Beethoven's piano concertos with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Brahms' Second Symphony

Johannes Brahms started composing symphonies relatively late in his career; his respect for Beethoven was so phenomenal that he avoided it for a long time. In the end he wrote four symphonies, each with its own distinct character. The Second is often compared to Beethoven's Pastorale: orchestral music as a summer walk. 

Audio & Video