16 April 2021


Paavo Järvi, conductor

Schumann’s ‘Rhenish’

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
April 2021 Friday 21:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Sale has ended
Ludwig van Beethoven Ouverture 'Leonore' nr. 3
Robert Schumann Symphony No. 3 'Rhenish'

Under the direction of Paavo Järvi, the Concertgebouworkest is performing two undisputed masterpieces from the nineteenth century. Schumann’s Symphony No. 3 ‘Rhenish’ is preceded by Beethoven’s Leonore Overture No. 3.


Schumann’s Symphony No. 3 is the absolute culmination of his efforts to prove himself as an orchestral composer following the successes he had had with lieder and piano music. Inspired by the beautiful landscape of the Rhineland, he wanted this symphony to sound like folk music. But the work also sometimes has a solemn, spiritual intensity, the result of the deep impression that the then newly built Cologne Cathedral made on him.


Four times a year, the Essentials Series focuses on essential masterworks, pieces every music lover should know, performed by the Concertgebouworkest and introduced by the lively presenter Thomas Vanderveken in his own unique way.

Audio & Video