19, 20 June 2019

Tchaikovsky's Violin concerto

Bychkov | Znaider

Smetana's fatherland

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
June 2019 Wednesday 20:15
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
June 2019 Thursday 20:15
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Detlev Glanert Weites Land
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Bedrich Smetana Má vlast: No. 1 'Vysehrad'
Bedrich Smetana Má vlast: No. 2 'Vltava'
Bedrich Smetana Má vlast: No. 3 'Sárka'
Smetana's Má Vlast 

Smetana, Tchaikovsky and an ode to Brahms: it just doesn't get any more romantic. Nikolaj Znaider plays the solo in Tchaikovsky's beautiful Violin Concerto. Smetana's Má Vlast (My fatherland) is an unabashed paean to Bohemia, in the Czech Republic. In the famous second movement, Vltava, we can hear the Moldau slowly flowing through the vast, rolling hills. Echoes of history resonate in the first movement, about the old Vysehrad castle in Prague, and in Šárka, which tells the tale of female warriors winning victory in a mythical battle. 

Detlev Glanert's Weites Land 

Weites Land (Distant Country) by Detlev Glanert is a respectful homage to Brahms, and more specifically to his Fourth Symphony. The hugely talented Glanert, closely affiliated to the Concertgebouworkest as a composer for years, arranges this for orchestra like no other. 

All of this in the eminently capable hands of Semyon Bychkov, a beloved guest conductor at the Concertgebouworkest from as far back as 1984.

Audio & Video