24, 25 September 2020

World premiere Unsuk Chin

Originally subscription D (24 sep), A (25 sep)

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
Alexander Gavrylyuk unfortunately has had to cancel the concerts on 24 and 25 September due to a ligament inflammation of the hand. The Concertgebouworkest is delighted and grateful that Beatrice Rana has agreed to step in at short notice as the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concert.
September 2020 Thursday 19:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
September 2020 Friday 19:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Jimmy López The Travails of Persiles and Sigismunda: Book IV (from Symphony No. 1)
Unsuk Chin subito con forza (2020), world premiere
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Piano concerto No. 1

The Concertgebouworkest is bringing many worlds together. The extraordinary Italian pianist Beatrice Rana shines in Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1, his most famous. The young Finnish conductor Klaus Mäkelä kicks off the concert with exciting premieres by Jimmy López and Unsuk Chin.

Beatrice Rana

Beatrice Rana (1993) astounded the music world at a young age with her profound and nuanced approach to such works as Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 and Bach’s Goldberg Variations. In 2018 she made her debut in Amsterdam in the Master Pianists series as well as with the Concertgebouworkest, which turned her into a household name in no time. The orchestra is very happy to see her return for Tchaikovsky’s populair Piano Concerto No. 1. Incredibly, Tchaikovsky received harsh criticism because of it, but time would eventually prove him right: the concerto would become a firm favourite the world over.

Unsuk Chin world premiere

The music of the successful South Korean composer Unsuk Chin is a spellbinding mix of European and Asian elements. She has now been commissioned by the Concertgebouworkest for the first time to write a new work, celebrating Beethoven’s 250th anniversary. She based her work, subito con forza, on Beethoven’s conversation books (‘Konversationshefte’).   

Jimmy López

Jimmy López was born in Peru, but sees himself as a cosmopolitan composer. In recent years he has garnered many successes with his colourful music, in which an array of styles are brought together in a solid compositional framework. In 2016 his Symphony No. 1 proved that he is a master of large symphonic forms. Its four parts correspond to the four books of Cervantes’ novel The Travails of Persiles and Sigismunda, published shortly before the author’s death in 1616, Repetitive patterns in percussion and brass lead to a grand finale.

Audio & Video