The classics

D Series

D Series - The classics


The classics

Eight concerts on different evenings all showcasing an undisputed classic.

D Series highlights

Eight undisputed classics feature in the D Series each season. In 2020–21, Han-Na Chang is conducting the most recent of these works – Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony, composed at the end of the Second World War. The tumult of war resounded through the hall just before the first notes of the work were performed for the first time: the artillery fire meant that the Red Army had invaded Germany. Prokofiev himself claimed that the work was above all a tribute to the ‘greatness of the human spirit’. One might say the same of Bach’s unsurpassed St Matthew Passion, perhaps the most beautiful and powerful expression of the Passion of Christ. Haydn’s sprightly Symphony No. 88 is of a more carefree nature.

Beethoven’s legendary Fifth Symphony and Mahler’s First Symphony mark the beginning and the end of the nineteenth century respectively. Brahms’s Violin Concerto and Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto are unequivocal highlights of the concert repertoire; the soloists are artist in residence Janine Jansen and Alexander Gavrylyuk, two welcome guests on the Dutch concert stage.

  • 9 concerts