Family series

F Series

F Series - Family series


Family Series

Three concerts with fun introductions for the whole family

The Family Series introduces children, together with their parents or grandparents, to the world of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. It’s a world of adventure they can explore in three compelling concerts preceded by fun introductions.

The Family Series offers the perfect introduction to symphonic music for young concert-goers aged eight to sixteen. In three concerts, you can introduce your children or grandchildren to the world of the Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest. You and the children are seated onstage behind the orchestra, where you have a good view of the musicians and conductor.

Series F highlights

The 2019/2020 Family Series is more varied than ever, with music by Beethoven and Skryabin alongside a spectacular trumpet concerto by the contemporary composer Brett Dean. Exciting ballet music by Stravinsky and Bartók is juxtaposed with Schubert and a recently composed viola concerto by Georges Lentz featuring beautiful music heard here for the very first time. Not to mention Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, which at times may sound like cartoon music, yet needs no film to evoke images.


A fun introduction is given for the children’s benefit prior to the concerts. They are welcomed in the Choir Hall an hour before the concert begins and are given background information on the music performed on that particular concert. Musicians will also be on hand to talk a bit about their instruments, and the children will be given the opportunity to ask questions.

  • 3 concerten