Premiere 2 April 2021

Brass of the Concertgebouworkest


Support the orchestra

If you would like to support the Concertgebouw Orchestra in these uncertain times, for example by making a one-off donation, we are very grateful for that.

read more about donating

Played works

Jean-Philippe Rameau Suite from Platée
Aleksander Borodin Polovtsian Dances
Mogens Andresen Three Norwegian Dances
. Traditional Sultani Yegâh Sirto


Laurens Woudenberg hoorn

Bert Langenkamp trompet

Nico Schippers trombone

Perry Hoogendijk tuba

Jacco Groenendijk trompet

Bart Claessens trombone

Martin Schippers trombone

Mark Braafhart slagwerk

Omar Tomasoni trompet

Bence Major slagwerk

Katy Woolley Hoorn

Watch this video?

You must be logged in to view the videos. If you do not have an account, you can create a new account here.


The brass players of the Concertgebouworkest perform a programme that transcends nations and centuries, visiting traditional Turkish melodies, French Baroque dances and music from Scandinavia.

Baroque dances

The brass players of the Concertgebouworkest start their musical journey with feelgood Baroque dances from eighteenth century France. For the occasion of the marriage between King Louis XV’s son with Maria Thereasa of Spain, Jean-Philippe Ramaeu composed his comical opera Platée, in which an ugly water nymph thinks that Jupiter is in love with her - a teasing stab at the bride, but the opera was a huge success.

Turkish and Norwegian dances

The Polowetzer Dances from Borodin’s popular opera Prince Igor refer to the rousing music of a nomadic people, originationg from Turkey, which covered large parts of Asia in medieval times. Equal parts melancholic and fiery is the traditional Turkish piece Sultâni Yegâh Sirto, of which composer Selim Doğru made an arrangement for the brass players of the Concertgebouworkest. The Danish trombonist and composer Mogens Andresen based some wonderful music for brass ensemble on traditional Norwegian dances.