Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite


Support the orchestra

If you would like to support the Concertgebouw Orchestra in these uncertain times, for example by making a one-off donation, we are very grateful for that.

read more about donating

Played works

Richard Strauss Der Rosenkavalier: Suite

Watch this video?

You must be logged in to view the videos. If you do not have an account, you can create a new account here.


Mariss Jansons conducts the Concertgebouworkest in the Suite from Der Rosenkavalier. In his opera Der Rosenkavalier, Richard Strauss dreamt of the world in Mozart’s time.

Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier Suite

In his opera Der Rosenkavalier, Richard Strauss dreamt of the world in Mozart’s time, a period that for him, in the years before the outbreak of the First World War, seemed angelically innocent; as a result he portrayed 18th-century Vienna with its manners and traditions, but also surprisingly with late-19th-century waltzes and an occasionally overripe hyper-Romantic orchestral sound. The immediate success of Der Rosenkavalier prompted Strauss to make an orchestral suite from its music, consisting of the prelude and several highlights.

Mariss Jansons, chief conductor

Mariss Jansons was chief conductor of the Concertgebouworkest from 2004 to 2015. Jansons has been music director of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra since 2003. He has made numerous appearances throughout the world as a guest conductor of the Berlin, the Vienna and the London Philharmonic Orchestras, as well as the leading orchestras in the United States. Jansons has been awarded various honours and awards, including the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize.

Read more