The matinee

Z series

Z series - The matinee


The Matinee

Eight (or four) Sunday afternoon concerts

Spend your Sunday afternoon in an enjoyable, meaningful way listening to soloists and conductors of world renown performing the most beautiful works.

Z Series highlights

The Concertgebouworkest’s Z Series offers you the perfect way to spend your Sunday afternoons. You’ll hear artist in residence Janine Jansen, who is performing as soloist in Stravinsky’s L’histoire du soldat. The well-loved mezzo-soprano Ann Hallenberg is singing arias by Handel and Haydn under the baton of Riccardo Minasi, who is making his Concertgebouworkest debut and who is conducting Haydn’s popular Symphony No. 88 on the same programme.

The Z Series also features Jaap van Zweden conducting Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and lieder by Schubert and Richard Strauss sung by the renowned baritone Matthias Goerne.

Han-Na Chang is making her first appearance with the Concertgebouworkest conducting Prokofiev’s brilliant Fifth Symphony. Kristiina Poska, for her part, is leading the orchestra in music by Ravel and Pärt. The pianists Kirill Gerstein, Yefim Bronfman and Behzod Abduraimov shine in works by Shostakovich, Liszt and Bartók respectively.

The series also features a number of works by Dvořák – both the Seventh and the exhilarating Eighth Symphonies, as well as the Serenade for strings. Trevor Pinnock is juxtaposing that last work with Mozart’s ‘Gran partita’ and music by Gabrieli. Dvořák also happens to be one of the seventeen composers whose names are immortalised on the plaques adorning the balconies in the Main Hall, and Iván Fischer is leading the orchestra in a short work by each of them – thus bringing to life something of the history of the Concertgebouw and the Concertgebouworkest.

  • 8 concerts
  • 6 concerts
  • 6 concerts
  • 4 concerts
  • 4 concerts