Beethoven: Symphony No. 4

with commentary by Iván Fischer


Support the orchestra

If you would like to support the Concertgebouw Orchestra in these uncertain times, for example by making a one-off donation, we are very grateful for that.

read more about donating

Watch this video?

You must be logged in to view the videos. If you do not have an account, you can create a new account here.


Ludwig van Beethoven’s lyrical Symphony No. 4 is performed by the Concertgebouworkest under Iván Fischer. You can watch the performance with or without Iván Fischer’s commentary.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4

Ludwig van Beethoven composed his Fourth Symphony not long after the Fourth Piano Concerto. Beethoven’s long struggle with what was later to become his Fifth Symphony had caused him to put it aside for a while; it was during this time that these two highly lyrical works were composed. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 contains no obvious connection with events in Beethoven’s life nor ethical values that would increase its worth, as is known about the heroic Third or the ill-fated Fifth. The Fourth Symphony is simply about itself.

Iván Fischer, conductor

Iván Fischer has been a welcome guest conductor with the Concertgebouworkest since 1987. Fischer’s way of working, which is as unusual as it is committed, and the musicians’ enthusiasm and virtuosity always result in very special performances. You can watch the performance of Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony with or without Iván Fischer’s commentary. The conductor’s fascinating explanation takes you straight to Beethoven’s time.

watch the concert without commentary

Read more