Brahms: Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra

Played works

Johannes Brahms Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra


Concertmaster Liviu Prunaru and principal cellist Gregor Horsch appear as soloists with ‘their own’ Concertgebouworkest, conducted by Andris Nelsons. Brahms’s Double Concerto offers them every opportunity to shine.

Brahms’s Double Concerto

Johannes Brahms composed the Double Concerto for violin and cello during a holiday in Switzerland. The lyrical richness of this music seems to reflect Brahms’s enjoyment of his summer holiday. The violin and the cello do not only alternate in the Double Concerto; they play so often together that we get the impression of a giant eight-stringed instrument, one that is amply suited to its confrontations with the full orchestra.

Liviu Prunaru and Gregor Horsch, soloists

Liviu Prunaru was appointed principal violinist of the Concertgebouworkest in September 2006. Prunaru has made solo appearances with the Concertgebouworkest, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra. In addition, he has given recitals throughout the world.

Gregor Horsch is principal cellist of the Concertgebouworkest since 1997. As the winner of the 1988 Pierre Fournier Award in London, Horsch gave numerous recitals throughout the UK and made various radio recordings for the BBC.

Read more