Played works

Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 7



Mariss Jansons conducts the Concertgebouworkest in Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7. A compelling work because of its melodic richness and warm timbre.

Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7

Despite the fact that Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7 is the only one that was completed without any notable problems and that also received a successful premiere, it too exists in different versions. For example, the charismatic Hungarian conductor Arthur Nikisch advised Bruckner to add cymbals and triangle to the climax of the Adagio. Mariss Jansons here conducts the Leopold Nowak version of the Seventh Symphony, with percussion (here at 37’29”).

Mariss Jansons, chief conductor

Mariss Jansons was chief conductor of the Concertgebouworkest from 2004 to 2015. Their alliance was unprecedented and intensive, which instigated world-wide recognition. Jansons has been music director of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra since 2003. He has made numerous appearances throughout the world as a guest conductor of the Berlin, the Vienna and the London Philharmonic Orchestras, as well as the leading orchestras in the United States. Jansons has been awarded various honours and awards for his services to music, including the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize.

Read more