The orchestra has had just seven chief conductors since it was founded in 1888. Each one had a great influence on the development of the orchestra’s distinctive sound and repertoire.

Seven chief conductors write the history of the Concertgebouworkest

Permanent conductors

In addition to the seven chief conductors, the Concertgebouw Orchestra has had several ‘second principal conductors’ and other permanent conductors. In the new millennium, two conductors who each made a significant contribution each received the title of honorary guest conductor.

Gustav Kogel
second principal conductor 1908-1910

Karl Muck
second principal conductor 1921-1925

Pierre Monteux
second principal conductor 1925-1934

Bruno Walter
second principal conductor 1934-1939

Rafael Kubelik
permanent conductors 1949-1955

George Szell
permanent conductors 1958-1961

Eugen Jochum
permanent conductors 1961-1964

Kirill Kondrashin
permanent conductors 1979-1981

Nikolaus Harnoncourt
honorary guest conductor 2000-2016

Iván Fischer
honorary guest conductor since 2021