Premiere 18 June 2021


Support the orchestra

If you would like to support the Concertgebouw Orchestra in these uncertain times, for example by making a one-off donation, we are very grateful for that.

read more about donating

Played works

Olivier Messiaen Quatuor pour la fin du temps


Johan van Iersel cello

Arno Piters es-klarinet

Marc Daniel van Biemen 1e viool

Jeroen Bal piano

Watch this video?

You must be logged in to view the videos. If you do not have an account, you can create a new account here.


Members of the Concertgebouworkest perform one of the most important works composed during the Second World War. Olivier Messiaen's Quatuor pour la fin du temps, an impressive spiritual ode to the resilience of man, was written at the Stalag VIII-A labor camp in Poland. It premiered there too: an audience of five thousand French prisoners of war listened breathlessly in the icy cold to the eight-part work for clarinet, piano, violin and cello.