Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suite

with commentary by Daniele Gatti


Support the orchestra

If you would like to support the Concertgebouw Orchestra in these uncertain times, for example by making a one-off donation, we are very grateful for that.

read more about donating

Watch this video?

You must be logged in to view the videos. If you do not have an account, you can create a new account here.


Daniele Gatti conducts the Concertgebouworkest in Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet. You can watch the performance with or without Gatti’s commentary, or with reactions from Vesko Eschkenazy and Henk Rubingh.

Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet

Sergei Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet was inspired by Shakespeare’s play Romeo and Juliet about two young star-crossed lovers from the feuding families Montague and Capulet. The ballet was such a success, that Prokofiev made three different orchestral suites from Romeo and Juliet for the concert hall. The orchestra features unusual instruments, such as a tenor saxophone; Prokofiev also added a cornet, a viola d’amore and mandolins to invigorate the Italian atmosphere of the piece.

Daniele Gatti, chief conductor

Daniele Gatti was chief conductor of the Concertgebouworkest from 2016 until 2018. For the performance of Romeo and Juliet Gatti has made his own choice of six movements from Prokofjev’s First Suite and three movements from the Second Suite. In this way the storyline of the ballet remains intact. You can watch the performance without Daniele Gatti’s commentary, or with reactions from the musicians Vesko Eschkenazy and Henk Rubingh (in Dutch).

watch the concert without commentary

watch the concert with commentary by Henk Rubingh and Vesko Eschkenazy

Watch the interview with Daniele Gatti

Watch the mini docu 'Star cross'd lovers'

Read more