Beethoven: Symphony No. 5

Iván Fischer conducts the Concertgebouworkest in Ludwig van Beethoven’s popular Symphony No. 5. You can watch the performance with or without Iván Fischer’s commentary.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 is an ingenious construction on the most famous four notes in Western music history: the short-short-short-long motif with which the Fifth Symphony begins. Beethoven would have said about it: “fate is knocking at the door”. Beethoven’s contemporary E.T.A. Hoffmann wrote an influential review of the Fifth Symphony. According to him, the music sets in motion “a mechanism of awe, fear, horror and pain. It is imbued with longing, which is the essence of romance”. “The Fifth” naturally became immensely popular.

Iván Fischer, conductor

Iván Fischer has been a welcome guest conductor with the Concertgebouworkest since 1987. Fischer’s way of working, which is as unusual as it is committed, and the musicians’ enthusiasm and virtuosity always result in very special performances. You can watch the performance of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony with or without Iván Fischer’s commentary. The conductor’s fascinating explanation takes you straight to Beethoven’s time.


Choose from these concerts

Related videos