25 June 2021

Antonio Pappano, conductor

Igor Levit, piano

Beethoven and Schumann

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
June 2021 Friday 20:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 3
Robert Schumann Symphony No. 2

The Concertgebouworkest performs masterpieces by Ludwig Van Beethoven and Robert Schumann under the direction of Sir Antonio Pappano. Igor Levit is the soloist in Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, which is followed by Schumann's optimistic Second Symphony.

Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3
Igor Levit returns to the Concertgebouworkest to perform Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto under the direction of Sir Antonio Pappano. The outstanding Russian–German pianist made his Concertgebouworkest debut in April 2018. Levit’s performance was ‘self-assured and challenging’, wrote De Volkskrant of his performance of Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto. Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto ones again provides an opportunity for another exciting partnership.

Lively and brilliant
Equally briljant is Schumann’s Symphony No. 2, which he began composing a week after the premiere of his Piano Concerto. The symphony is a monument of resilience and optimism, written in a period when Schumann was coping with depression and health problems.

Audio & Video