Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

10 May 2019

Van der Aa, Peter Eötvös

Patricia Kopatchinskaya, Sol Gabetta

Dutch premieres

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
May 2019 Friday 20:15
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Peter Eötvös Alle vittime senza nome
Michel van der Aa akin (world premiere)
Witold Lutoslawski Concerto for Orchestra
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Van der Aa

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra is presenting two Dutch premieres: Michel van der Aa's double concerto akin and Peter Eötvös' Alle vittime senza nome conducted by Eötvös himself. The celebrated Dutch composer Van der Aa has written several works for the Concertgebouw Orchestra, including the highly successful Violin Concerto with Janine Jansen in 2015. Expectations are high for Van der Aa's new work akin, to be performed by two world famous solo performers, violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaya and cellist Sol Gabetta. 

Peter Eotvös

Eotvös' own Alle vittime senza nome is an impressive musical tribute to the many refugees from Africa and the Middle East who have drowned during the passage across the Mediterranean Sea. The work echoes the instability of the sea, and in its stylistic contrasts also evokes the cultural diversity of the refugees. 

Witold Lutoslawski

Witold Lutoslawski wrote his Concert for Orchestra after his music was banned by Soviet authorities because of its modernist tendencies in 1954. He found a loophole by using Polish folk melodies, incorporating them into an ingenious contrapuntal structure that sometimes seems almost neo-baroque. This soon became one of Lutoslawski's most popular pieces in the free Western world.  

Audio & Video