Played works

Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 5


The Concertgebouworkest and Daniele Gatti perform Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 5. Mahler put his heart and soul into the symphony and dedicated it to his ‘dear Almscherl’.

Mahler’s Symphony No. 5

Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 5 is a grandiose large-scale work in five movements. The slow fourth movement, the Adagietto, played an important role in Visconti’s famous film Death in Venice. In Visconti’s film, the Adagietto got a tragic character that Mahler had not intended. It was composed in a time when Mahler was actually at his happiest: he had just married Alma and she was already pregnant with their first child. He dedicated his Fifth Symphony to his ‘dear Almscherl’.

Daniele Gatti, chief conductor

Daniele Gatti was chief conductor of the Concertgebouworkest from 2016 to 2018. As a guest conductor, Gatti regularly leads the Vienna Philharmonic, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Munich Philharmonic, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and the Orchestra Filarmonica della Scala. Maestro Gatti has conducted many opera productions worldwide and has close ties with the Teatro alla Scala in Milan and the Viennese Staatsoper.

Read more