Strauss: Vier letzte Lieder

Played works

Richard Strauss Vier letzte Lieder

Anja Harteros sopraan


Anja Harteros and the Concertgebouworkest perform Richard Strauss’s Vier letzte Lieder (Four Last Songs), conducted by Bernard Haitink. The Vier letzte Lieder depict the different stages of life.

Strauss’s Four Last Songs

The Vier letzte Lieder (Four Last Songs) for soprano and orchestra are the final works of Richard Strauss. The four songs form a modest cycle depicting the different stages of life. ‘Frühling’ is full of joy and expectation; in ‘September’ the poet says goodbye to summer. In ‘Beim Schlafengehen’ the soul yearns for the ‘magic circle’ of the night, and finally in ‘Im Abendrot’ an older couple witness a sunset, and wonder if they’re perhaps experiencing the end of life.

Anja Harteros, soprano

Anja Harteros made her debut with the Concertgebouworkest in this performance of Strauss’s Four Last Songs in 2011. The German soprano studied with Liselotte Hammes and Astrid Huber-Aulmann. In the summer of 1999, Anja Harteros won the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World competition, which led to many invitations for concerts and guest performances. Since then, she has appeared as a guest at all the major opera houses in the world.

Read more