Played works

Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 5


Nikolaus Harnoncourt Conductor


Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducts the Concertgebouworkest in Bruckner’s Fifth Symphony. You can also watch the performance with commentary by the musicians Jan Kouwenhoven and Daniël Esser, (in Dutch).

Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5

Anton Bruckner was extremely pleased with his Symphony No. 5. He spoke with pride about his ‘contrapuntal masterpiece’, referring to the complex structure of the Finale. When the Fifth Symphony was premiered in 1894, Bruckner was too ill to attend. Franz Schalk, the conductor, wrote to him: “I felt myself deeply moved, and that I wandered blissfully in the fields of eternal greatness. Those who did not hear it can have no idea of the shattering force of the final movement.”

Nikolaus Harnoncourt, conductor

Having founded Concentus Musicus Wien in 1953, Nikolaus Harnoncourt revolutionised Baroque historical performance practice. Harnoncourt first appeared with the Concertgebouworkest in 1975 and was appointed honorary guest conductor in October 2000. His interpretations have contributed greatly to the performance tradition of Bach’s St Matthew and St John Passions, for instance. With this performance of Bruckner’s Fifth Symphony, Harnoncourt bid farewell to the Concertgebouworkest after a collaboration spanning thirty-eight years and 276 concerts. He passed away in 2016.

commentary by Jan Kouwenhoven & Daniël Esser

watch the interview with Matthias Giesen

Read more