16 October 2021

Dvořák’s irresistible Ninth Symphony takes pride of place in Essentials

Essentials: ‘New World’ Symphony

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
October 2021 Saturday 21:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Antonín Dvořák Symphony No. 9, 'From the New World'

Tugan Sokhiev is leading the Concertgebouworkest in Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, (‘From the New World’), a masterpiece both essential and irresistible in equal measure.

The charming second movement is truly one of the smash hits of the classical repertoire.

Antonín Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony (‘From the New World’) is one of the most popular symphonies ever written. Having just been appointed artistic director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York, the composer discovered the musics of indigenous people and African Americans, and incorporated folk melodies in the symphony. The music evokes grand American vistas, yet also betrays a yearning nostalgia for Dvořák’s own Bohemian homeland. After two and a half years, Dvořák was thus relieved to be able to return to the ‘Old World’.

Audio & Video