26 February 2021

Andrew Manze, conductor

Violin Concerto in D, KV 218 - Sylvia Huang, violin

Mozart's Jupiter symphony

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
This concert will be streamed on 26 February 2021 via concertgebouworkest.nl, YouTube and Facebook.
February 2021 Friday 20:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony no.41, 'Jupiter'
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Violin concerto Nr. 4

The Concertgebouworkest performs two undisputed masterpieces by Mozart. The young violinist Sylvia Huang is the soloist in Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4. Andrew Manze then conducts Mozart’s majestic ‘Jupiter’ Symphony. 

A veritable virtuoso

The Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major and the ‘Jupiter’ Symphony are two of the most emblematic works Mozart ever wrote. As an adolescent, the precocious composer had already achieved a degree of mastery. Mozart wrote his Fourth Violin Concerto at the age of nineteen. He had composed the earlier three for his own use, being a commendable violinist himself. The Fourth, however, was intended for a veritable virtuoso. Tonight that virtuoso is the young violinist and Concertgebouworkest member Sylvia Huang, who won the Audience Prize at the prestigious Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2019.

Divine aura

With his forty-first and final symphony, nicknamed the ‘Jupiter’, Mozart gloriously excelled himself. The work owes its ‘divine’ aura to the majestic themes and to the astonishing way Mozart intertwines them. The energetic British conductor Andrew Manze specialises in eighteenth-century repertoire. He makes Mozart’s well-known masterpices sound like they did when they were first performed: new and exciting.

Audio & Video