16 April 2021

Paavo Järvi, conductor | Schumann’s ‘Rhenish’

Stream: Víkingur Ólafsson plays Mozart

Tickets & ProgrammeAudio & Video
April 2021 Friday 20:00
Het Concertgebouw, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
past concert
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24, KV 491
Robert Schumann Symphony No. 3 'Rhenish'

Under the direction of Paavo Järvi, the Concertgebouworkest is performing Mozart’s popular Piano Concerto No. 24 with the Icelandic Víkingur Ólafsson, followed by Schumann’s romantic ‘Rhenish’ Symphony.


Víkingur Ólafsson is making his debut with the Concertgebouworkest. Over the past few years, he has attracted attention with his interpretation of music by Bach, Glass and contemporary music. That’s why it will certainly be interesting to hear his interpretation of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 24, a work of unrivalled beauty anticipating the romantic era with its dramatic opening and its dark undercurrents.


Paavo Järvi has made several impressive guest appearances with the Concertgebouworkest. He now shines his light on Schumann’s Third Symphony (‘Rhenish’), the culmination of Schumann’s efforts to prove himself as an orchestral composer. Inspired by the beautiful landscape of the Rhineland, he wanted this symphony to sound like folk music. But the work also sometimes has a solemn, spiritual intensity, the result of the deep impression that the then newly built Cologne Cathedral made on him.

Audio & Video