News overview

‘Lockdown Archives’: a unique retrospective

01 July 2021

Concertgebouworkest makes a year’s worth of video recordings freely available for a month


Starting on Thursday, 1 July, the Concertgebouworkest will be making its streaming programme since June 2020 available free of charge for one month under the name ‘Lockdown Archives’. The works performed by the orchestra between June 2020 and June 2021 can be accessed individually at (See also the complete list of works.)

Since the first lockdown in the spring of 2020, the Concertgebouworkest has streamed over eighty compositions in more than forty productions - including thirty-four orchestral programmes – on its website and social media channels. The orchestral players performed at a distance of over one and a half metres from one another and usually in an otherwise empty hall, but with an impressive line-up of leading conductors and invariably with great enthusiasm and inspired ensemble playing. There were also a great many chamber music productions. All the streams together generated some 700,000 views worldwide.

Throughout July, the orchestra is making the recordings available free of charge. The ‘Lockdown Archives’ at offer a stunning musical retrospective of a historic period thanks to the camera and sound crew and technicians, as well as the many private individuals and sponsors whose generous support makes the orchestra’s free streams possible.

Tickets for the coming season also go on sale on 1 July. Sales of subscription series, which began at an earlier date, have already exceeded expectations. Indeed, more subscriptions have been sold than in the first few weeks of subscription sales for 2020–21, which took place just before the first lockdown in the Netherlands.

An impressive list of conductors

Such leading conductors as Semyon Bychkov, Myung-Whun Chung, Gustavo Dudamel, Iván Fischer, Alan Gilbert, Daniel Harding, Philippe Herreweghe, Fabio Luisi, Andris Nelsons, Gianandrea Noseda and Jaap van Zweden have led the orchestra over the last few months. The young Finnish conductor Klaus Mäkelä also stood out this season, having been invited to return twice, including a successful Christmas Matinee, following his debut with the orchestra in September 2020.


It was a turbulent but impressive season for soloists as well. Artist in residence Janine Jansen was unable to perform the concerts scheduled with the Concertgebouworkest in December and March, but did return in May for Stravinsky’s Histoire du soldat and a chamber music concert with musicians from the orchestra. Memorable performances with the orchestra featured in the concert streams include those of pianists Stefano Bollani, Yefim Bronfman, Kirill Gerstein, Igor Levit, Víkingur Ólafsson and Beatrice Rana, and vocal soloists Miah Persson, Camilla Tilling, Andrew Staples, Matthias Goerne and Georg Nigl. Violinist Sergei Dogadin made a successful Concertgebouworkest debut standing in for Janine Jansen. From the orchestra’s own ranks, leader Liviu Prunaru, violinist Sylvia Huang and principal trumpet player Miroslav Petkov performed as soloists with the orchestra in its concert streams.

Complete works

  • Andresen: 3 Norwegian Dances
  • Andriessen: Tapdance Antony Hermus, conductor
  • Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3, BWV 1048 Pekka Kuusisto, violin/conductor
  • Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.3 Antonio Pappano, conductor; Igor Levit, piano
  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 Jaap van Zweden, conductor
  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
  • Berlioz: Les nuits d'été Iván Fischer, conductor; Miah Persson, soprano
  • Borodin: Polovtsian Dances
  • Brahms: Symphony No. 2 Philippe Jordan, conductor
  • Brahms: Symphony No. 4 Myung-Whun Chung, conductor
  • Britten: Nocturne Daniel Harding, conductor; Andrew Staples, tenor
  • Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 Valery Gergiev, conductor
  • Byrd: 2 Motets (arr. Muhly) Pekka Kuusisto, violin/conductor
  • Byrd: Mass for 4 voices (arr. Kuusisto) Pekka Kuusisto, violin/conductor
  • Chin:subito con forza Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Debussy: La mer Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
  • Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 Semyon Bychkov, conductor
  • Dvořák: The Noon Witch Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
  • Gershwin: Catfish Row Alan Gilbert, conductor; Stefano Bollani, piano
  • Gershwin: Cuban Overture Alan Gilbert, conductor
  • Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue Alan Gilbert, conductor; Stefano Bollani, piano
  • Gershwin: Rialto Ripples Alan Gilbert, conductor; Stefano Bollani, piano
  • Glanert: Der Einsiedler Jaap van Zweden, conductor; Matthias Goerne, baritone
  • Händel: Music for the Royal Fireworks Ton Koopman, conductor
  • Haydn: Symphony No. 96 Philippe Herreweghe, conductor
  • JacobTV: WHO, WHAT, WHERE, WHEN, WHY? François-Xavier Roth, conductor
  • Keuris: Symphony in D Major Antony Hermus, conductor
  • Kodály: The Peacock Variations Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
  • Kortekaas: Notenkrakers' notulen Antony Hermus, conductor; Katharine Dain, soprano
  • Ligeti: Concert Românesc Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
  • Liszt: Piano Concerto No.2 Gianandrea Noseda, conductor; Yefim Bronfman, piano
  • López: Symphony No. 1 Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Mahler: Kindertotenlieder Fabio Luisi, conductor; Peter Mattei, baritone
  • Mahler: Symphony No. 4 Gustavo Dudamel, conductor; Camilla Tilling, soprano
  • Mahler: Symphony No. 5 Fabio Luisi, conductor
  • Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 'Italian' Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
  • Messiaen: Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum Daniel Harding, conductor
  • Messiaen: Les offrandes oubliées Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps
  • Mozart: Die Zauberflöte OvertureGustavo Dudamel, conductor
  • Mozart: Gran Partita
  • Mozart: Minuet Iván Fischer, conductor
  • Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 24 Paavo Järvi, conductor; Víkingur Ólafsson, piano
  • Mozart: Symphony No. 34 Iván Fischer, conductor
  • Mozart: Symphony No. 41 'Jupiter' Andrew Manze, conductor
  • Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 4 Andrew Manze, conductor; Sylvia Huang, violin
  • Pintscher: Songs from Solomon’s Garden Matthias Pintscher, conductor; Georg Nigl, baritone
  • Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 Andris Nelsons, conductor
  • Rameau : Suite from Platée
  • Ravel: Ma mère l'oye Matthias Pintscher, conductor
  • Schönberg: Verklärte Nacht Philippe Jordan, conductor
  • Schubert: Songs Jaap van Zweden, conductor; Matthias Goerne, baritone
  • Schubert: Overture in Italian Style Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
  • Schubert: Symphony No. 3 Daniel Harding, conductor
  • Schumann: Symphony No. 2 Antonio Pappano, conductor
  • Schumann: Symphony No. 3 'Rhenish' Paavo Järvi, conductor
  • Schumann: Symphony No. 6 Philippe Herreweghe, conductor
  • Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1 Semyon Bychkov, conductor; Kirill Gerstein, piano; Miroslav Petkov, trumpet
  • Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Sibelius: Symphony No. 1 Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
  • Sibelius: Violin Concerto Myung-Whun Chung, conductor; Liviu Prunaru, violin
  • Strauss: Songs Jaap van Zweden, conductor; Matthias Goerne, baritone
  • Stravinsky: Dumbarton Oaks Pekka Kuusisto, conductor
  • Stravinsky: Histoire du Soldat Janine Jansen, violin
  • Stravinsky: Apollon musagète – Daniel Harding, conductor
  • Swart: Reflections Antony Hermus, conductor; Remy van Kesteren, harp
  • Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 Klaus Mäkelä, conductor; Beatrice Rana, piano
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 Semyon Bychkov, conductor
  • Thorvaldsdottir: Hrim Pekka Kuusisto, conductor
  • Sultani Yegâh Sirto
  • Tsoupaki: Thin Air Pekka Kuusisto, conductor
  • Van Veldhuizen: mais le corps taché d'ombres Fabio Luisi, conductor
  • Vivaldi: Recorder Concerto, RV 443 Ton Koopman, conductor; Lucie Horsch, recorder